## **Board of Commissioners – Housing Authority of the Town of Morristown**

# Annual Board Meeting Summary Minutes 200 South Street, Morristown, NJ 07960 October 23, 2023

#### **Agenda**

- Board Officers Elections
- Board Committee Assignments

#### **Board of Commissioners**

Martha Ballard, Commissioner Luma Oweis, Commissioner Eva Turbiner, Commissioner Tina Lindsey, Commissioner Nohemy Zabala, Commissioner - Absent Derrick McCoy, Commissioner

## **Housing Authority Personnel**

Keith Kinard, Executive Director Allison Durham, Deputy Director

#### Attorney

Paul Miller, Esq., DeCotiis, FitzPatrick & Cole, LLP General Counsel to the Morristown Housing Authority

#### Called To Order

Mr. Kinard called for the Annual Board Meeting to order at 7:07 p.m. The meeting was properly noticed under the New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act. Roll call was taken and Commissioners Ballard, Oweis, Turbiner, Lindsey, and McCoy was present.

## **Board Officer Nominations - Vice Chairperson**

The floor was opened for nominations: Ms. Ballard nominated Luma Oweis for the seat of Vice-Chairperson. With no further nominations, a vote was taken and all Commissioners present voted in favor.

### **Board Officer Nominations - Chairperson**

The floor was open for nominations: Commissioner Oweis nominated Ms. Ballard for the position of Chairperson. With no further nominations, a vote was taken and all Commissioners present voted in favor. Mr. Kinard congratulated Vice Chair Oweis and Chairwoman Ballard and turned the meeting over to Chairwoman Ballard.

## **Board Committee Assignments**

Chairwoman Ballard stated that due to the changing responsibilities of the MHA, it was imperative to revise the Board Committees noted in the Bylaws. Mr. Kinard noted that the two new committees established are Asset Management/Finance and Community Outreach. He reviewed

the parameters within each committee and noted that based on feedback from Commissioners and the Chairwoman's decision, the committee members recommended for Asset Management/Finance are Commissioner Turbiner, Commissioner McCoy and Commissioner Zabala. The Community Outreach Board Committee members recommended are Chairwoman Ballard, Commissioner Lindsey and Commissioner Oweis.

Subsequent to this meeting Commissioner Zabala was re-assigned to the Community Outreach Committee and Commissioner Lindsey re-assigned to the Asset Management/Finance Board Committee.

Mr. Kinard further noted that there will be a resolution to revise the Board Bylaws section related to the Board Committees, reflecting the changed committees.

# **Adjournment**

Commissioner Turbiner requested an Executive Session of Board Members only. With no further business, the Annual meeting was adjourned at 7:12 p.m.