# **Board of Commissioners – Housing Authority of the Town of Morristown Zoom Meeting Minutes**

June 22, 2020

## **Board of Commissioners**

Maureen Denman, Chairwoman Nathan Umbriac, Vice-Chairman Luma Oweis, Commissioner Martha Ballard, Commissioner Caroline Opondo, Commissioner Adia Harris, Commissioner

## **Housing Authority Personnel**

Keith Kinard, Executive Director – Not Present Allison Durham, Deputy Director

## **Housing Authority General Counsel**

Frank Borin, Esq., DeCotiis, FitzPatrick & Cole, LLP

## **Town of Morristown Officials**

Mayor Thomas Dougherty – Not Present Pastor David Silva, Council Liaison to the Morristown Housing Authority – Not Present

## Call to Order

Chairwoman Denman called the meeting to order at 6:07 p.m. The meeting was properly noticed under the New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act. Roll call was taken and Chairwoman Denman, Vice-Chairman Umbriac and Commissioners Oweis, Ballard, Opondo and Harris were present. The flag was saluted.

## **Moment of Silence Observed**

## Approval of Minutes – May 27, 2020

Upon a motion by Commissioner Ballard and seconded by Commissioner Umbriac, the minutes of the prior Board Meeting were approved. Chairwoman Denman, Vice-Chairman Umbriac, Commissioners Oweis, Ballard, Opondo and Harris voted in favor.

#### **Executive Director Report**

Ms. Durham reported to the Board of Commissioners on the following matters: Executive Director met with all Morristown Council members to review the RAD program; at a subsequent date the Town Council approved a Resolution of Need required to continue progress of the RAD program.

## **Board Committee Reports**

No Reports.

#### **Old Business**

## **Schedule of Bills - Approved**

Upon a motion by Commissioner Harris and seconded by Commissioner Ballard, the schedule of bills was approved. Chairwoman Denman, Vice-Chairman Umbriac and Commissioners Oweis, Ballard, Opondo and Harris voted in favor.

## **Resolutions**

None

## **New Business**

Chairwoman Denman read into the record the Criteria for Public Comments during all public Board of Commissioners meetings.

## **Public Comments**

Upon a motion by Vice-Chairman Umbriac and seconded by Commissioner Opondo, the meeting was opened for public comments. Chairwoman Denman, Vice-Chairman Umbriac and Commissioners Oweis, Ballard, Opondo and Harris voted in favor. No public comments were made. Chairwoman Denman noted complaints of individuals setting off fireworks throughout Manahan Village several nights recently disturbing residents and their children. Chairwoman Denman advised residents to call the police to report the disturbances for them to intervene. Commissioner Harris noted that some residents are hesitant to call the police as some officers appear to be friendly with the individuals causing the disturbance and do not address the issue with them. Chairwoman Denman advised residents are not required to give their names or phone number when making the complaint calls. Chairwoman Denman also stated that upon contacting the police department she was advised they received four calls from the same caller. She also stated that Mr. Kinard is scheduling a meeting with the Director of Public Safety and Chief of Police to discuss this and other items.

Upon a motion by Vice-Chairman Umbriac and seconded by Commissioner Opondo, the Public Comment session of the meeting was closed. Chairwoman Denman, Vice-Chairman Umbriac and Commissioners Oweis, Ballard, Opondo and Harris voted in favor.

#### **Adjournment**

Upon a motion by Commissioner Harris and seconded by Commissioner Umbriac, the public meeting was adjourned by Chairwoman Denman at 6:24 p.m. Chairwoman Denman, Vice-Chairman Umbriac and Commissioners Oweis, Ballard, Opondo and Harris voted in favor.